Breaking Free

I decided to compose this poem after I watched one of Ms. Toni Gonzaga’s video blogs which is Toni Talks| How Jelai Andres Healed From Her Broken Heart?

Mending a broken heart is never a simple fight. Anxiety and depression are the standard results as you face this sort of issue.
The highlight of her story is that she recovered from those pains and learn to love and give time for herself.

“Breaking Free”

You are the missing piece in my puzzle.
You’re where I call home.
You are the one who makes me.
For me, you turn on the light.

Those words might have worked well in a poetry collection.
In a lover’s misplaced readings or a musician’s thuds.

But for me those words were TOXIC.
HORROR, DESTROYER, EVIL, PLAYFUL.
Words that sounded like a catastrophe.
The best adjectives fit those flowering words.
Needed to be wary and mindful.

Those terrifying words chant to my ears.
The first indications.
They made me feel compelled to flee.
They made me want to run as quickly as possible.

I couldn’t help but imagine an ambush in the future.
I couldn’t get the feeling that I’d been duped.
Invited to a place full of promises of love and mutual giving,
But then stuck and trapped.

Those words were an omen of doom.
They forced me to look through you.
What I was to you, and
Why you came here for.

I was your new source of amusement.
Your newest distortion.
Your new plaything,
When you’re in the middle of a game.

Your love for me was an excuse,
To escape from yourself.
To flee from your truths and lies.
I was just your hiding place.

I was your stress reliever.
Your shock absorber.
Your board of intellect games.
Your defenseless victim.
I was just simply your escape.

You don’t love me, but you depend on me.
You don’t want me, but you need me.
You came to suck the love out of me.
You came to leave me wasted and empty.

I believe in diversity.
I am different now, I changed.
I learned to lit my own light.
Not to seek happiness from anyone.
I learned to adore myself.

I’ve burnt the parasites of others’
negative and unfaithful words.
I’ve crushed the beliefs of me
requiring anyone but myself.

I’m sorry for the hurt.
I’m sorry that you’re afraid.
I’m sorry for the bad things that
happened to you.
But please, just keep it on you.

I’ll not let you pass it on me.
Not this time, not now.
Never again in this life.
Cause I decided to let myself free.

I’ve burnt the toxic memories of you.
Painted new pictures of happiness.
Welcome each day with a smile.
And ending a day with a sweet dream.

I am now Free.
Free from You, your world.
Free from your memories.
Free from pain you inflicted on me.

I’ll let you go.
And let myself leave.
For this is the only way,
For both of us and our pain to heal.

P.S. Thank you gang2x (Mary Grace) for correcting my grammar and words. I love you.

Published by darklee143

Aside from being chubby and cuddly. My sweet and caring boss said, "I am caring, mindful, emotional, and considerate. I am happy 'coz who would have thought that these words would definitely describe the kind of person, I am.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started